​NA MY GAIN NA!

Gain is anything that is helpful, useful, wanted or valued which is gotten from an activity, process or person.

After a long day of helping my Grandma pack for her trip and buying food items from the market, I was exhausted but glad to be headed home as I boarded a taxi. The driver looked crazy but I didn’t mind as he didn’t seem harmful, I wasn’t the only passenger, it was a busy road and not late into the evening.

On our way, some men stopped us asking for directions but the driver hoped they were his customers. ‘Where we go get bus going to Onitsha?’ they asked. I was going to reply but the driver quickly asked them to enter his cab so he could take them to the right park. Surprisingly, they stepped back and refused to comply. I starred at the driver in confusion because I knew that the implied right park which will cost ₦50 naira was not needful. All the strangers needed to do was cross the road and board a bus going to Onitsha. In fact they could see the buses from where they stood. The problem was they didn’t know because they were strangers who just needed directions. 

On seeing my stare the driver, said emphatically without shame to me: na my gain na! That is when I understood his earlier response. The supposed gain is ₦50 naira each from the three men, which I am overjoyed he lost. 

The money would have been helpful and useful to the driver but it would have been gotten through cheating, defrauding and causing three men needless pain. Later on the money was still made en route by the driver before I got off, this time rightly doing his business without misleading or cheating anyone.

Gain is useful, helpful, wanted and valued but it does not have to be gotten from misleading or cheating other people because we all can be the ‘other people’ someday in need of honest help, simple direction and kindness.

My gain will not be a result of anyone’s needless pain

My gain is and will be from helping, putting a smile on someone, providing goods and services that meet needs, rightly informing and definitely encouraging people and other healthy stuff.

I will not gain from another person’s pain, I can but I choose not to because of JESUS  CHRIST – For what good will it be for anyone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul? (Matthew 16:26, NIV)

In addition to gaining money honestly we can also gain:

1. Understanding – Joyful is the person who finds wisdom, the one who gains understanding (Proverbs 3:13, NLT)

2.Respect – A gracious woman gains respect, but ruthless men gain only wealth (Proverbs 11:16, NLT)

3. Honour – Pride brings a person low but the lowly in spirit gain honour (Proverbs 29:23, NIV)

Wetin be your gain?

Please let it not be anyone’s pain because you might be at the receiving end someday.

Gain will not elude you for been kind, helpful and honest. If it ever does then it did because it was never gain but disguised pain.

Our gain need not cause others pain

Important: To receive information and encouragement weekly from this blog as email click the ‘follow blog via email’ button below, thanks a lot for signing up. 

Sincerely, Peace Iruoma

© 2016

2 thoughts on “​NA MY GAIN NA!

What is your opinion about this article?

